E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr – Kometenbahn

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr - Kometenbahn

Release data:

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr – Kometenbahn
LP, Svart Records, 2013

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr is a cosmic music collective from Finland comprising the talents of Pertti Grönholm (synthesizers, sequencers and samplers), Jaakko Penttinen (synthesizers and sequencers), Kimi Kärki,(guitar, e-bow and effects) and Ismo Virta, (Memotron, guitar and effects).

According the press info, their debut album “Kometenbahn” is a sonic quest inspired by German Kosmische Musik of the 1970s. Well, it surely creates an overtly mellow, kindred atmosphere and feel, mapping out compositions (all having a German name) incorporating catchy sequencer lines and subtle melodies along some tasty vocoder voices, guitar licks and immersive cosmic textures.

The overall sound on the six tracks merges the retro-wave of the past with a vibrant but mysterious undercurrent, making the spacious, dreamy outcome gently glisten and shine in its own right. “Sonnenaufgang” is the only take that’s up-tempo/space-rock-like, and there for a bit out of place.

This said, the albums music left a strong melancholic feel on me. While listening to the well-executed and produced “Kometenbahn” with my eyes closed, I visualized multiple cosmic dust particles smoothly float by and settling down in a most relaxing manner.

The gatefold vinyl LP comes with a download coupon and is limited to 300.

Website: www.emgluxohr.blogspot.fi

You can see what reviews I have done of this artist on the E-Musikgruppe Lux-Ohr artist page


Sonic Immersion © 2021