E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr – Spiralo

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr - Spiralo

Release data:

E-Musikgruppe Lux Ohr – Spiralo
LP/DIGITAL DOWNLOAD, Svart Records, 2014

The sonic content of Spiralo extends on the German Kosmische Musik which already inspired their album “Kometenbahn”. What started as an improvised live set that Pertti Grönholm, Jaakko Penttinen, Kimi Kärki and Ismo Virta played at various concerts in late 2011 and early 2012 was later on recreated in the studio.

The spiraling cosmic journey in six parts is one with an intrinsic pulse and soaring textures in which a clear touch of minimalism plus the psychedelic buzz and experiment of the early ´70s is never far away. The latter approach makes the outcome not sounding that smooth or predictable, and sometimes even quite hard (part IV). The ride, dominated by a rather gritty and bit unpolished sound design best comes to bloom on the groovy, rollercoaster-ish part V where also some soloing is going on.

Overall, the 40-minute “Spiralo” proves a bit harder to appreciate than “Kometenbahn” as its sonic spiralling elements pushes things outside the box.

Website: www.emgluxohr.blogspot.fi

You can see what reviews I have done of this artist on the E-Musikgruppe Lux-Ohr artist page


Sonic Immersion © 2021