Erren – Fleissig – Schöttler – Steffen – Tidal Shift

Erren - Fleissig - Schöttler - Steffen - Tidal Shift

Release data:

Erren – Fleissig – Schöttler – Steffen – Tidal Shift
CD/DIGITAL DOWNLOAD, Private Release, 2018

“Tidal Shift” by the German quartet Jörg Erren, Bert Fleißig, Jochen Schöttler and Christian Steffen appears a four year hiatus. As was the case with their previous releases the outcome was realized during a week of happy jamming and improvising in a holiday lot in Ouddorp with little to no editing and adding afterwards. This time though the band decided to part slightly from old school EM they’re know for while adding more noises and rhythms.

The seven tracks still air that lovely vintage character but also incorporate various quirky/surrealist moodscapes and industrial-ish (“Transit”, “Macroscopic”) moves making the outcome morph into the direction of works of Nothing but Noise and Dave Bessell occasionally. On the other hand, the style executed on “Movement” and “Tunnel” appears intriguingly vintage-minimal. I myself love the rather gothic realm simmering underneath “Macroscopic”.

The aforementioned make “Tidal Shift” less easy and accessible but still rewarding as the result will grow on the listener as attentive listening and some further spins will prove eventually.


You can see what reviews I have done of this artist on the EFSS artist page


Sonic Immersion © 2024

Sonic Immersion
error: Content is protected !!