Exuviae – The Sum of Zero

Exuviae - The Sum of Zero

Release data:

Exuviae – The Sum of Zero
DIGITAL DOWNLOAD, Private Release, 2011

With “The Sum of Zero”, Minnesota-based ambient composer Brooks Rongstad offers his listeners the second and final chapter in Exuviae’s exploration of “End-Time” themes that started in 2009 with “Amnesiascape”. Brooks comments to this second part it “captures the more emotional and less literal side of an imagined experience of the end of the world”.

Well, no apocalytic, abstract musings here, but textural and drifting ambient/space music of a beautiful pastoral and introspective nature. Although we gently wander along the dreamy, mesmerizing sonic landscape featured on the first piece “Evershift”, things turn into a psychedelic, slightly ghostly sonic framework as we enter “Alone at the Crossing”. While a sense of repetition is a cornerstone on this release, there’s also a sense of both mystery and comfort found in the ongoing, slightly tweaked drone tapestries that seems to act like a veil.

If you’re looking for an atmospheric journey into the deep turmoil, “The Sum of Zero” could make a proper companion to put things into perspective. Don’t expect something uplifting though.
The release is available as free download through the Endless Ascent netlabel under a Creative Commons License for personal use.

Website: http//exuviae.bandcamp.com

You can see what reviews I have done of this artist on the Exuviae artist page


Sonic Immersion © 2022