Phillip Wilkerson – Ten to Eleven

Phillip Wilkerson - Ten to Eleven

Release data:

Phillip Wilkerson – Ten to Eleven
CD-R/DIGITAL DOWNLOAD, Private Release, 2011

“Ten to Eleven” is a 42-minute freeform soundscape ambient/space album by US-musician Phillip Wilkerson, offering eight pieces of highly spherical music. From his website I learned its actually a compilation of variously release tracks recorded during 2010 and 2011.
In addition, Phillip describes “Ten to Eleven” as a metaphor for the bridges he crossed heading into 2012: Mr Wilkerson is taking flight into a new phase of his solo music career, what makes this release marking an ending and a new beginning.

Mastered by Ben Cox (one of the founders of the LotusPike label), the recording is a spacious, gentle journey featuring expansive and calming layers of synth pads, with a brief, more pronounced solo voice showing up on the second track “Saturday”.
The composer is at his best though on the bit longer pieces such as “Complex Silence 15”, “All Possible Worlds”, “The Heart has Reasons” or “The Way Home”, all giving room to warm and smooth flowing textural synth washes.

I’m anxious to find out what new sonic endeavour Mr Wilkerson is going to undertake next.


You can see what reviews I have done of this artist on the  Phillip Wilkerson artist page


Sonic Immersion © 2021